Early Morning Sun and Art Indulgence

Today’s the day.  Daylight savings time and the sun is glowing at 7:30 in the morning as the clocks roll back an hour!  I feel the darkness pulling back from me and from the cool, uninspiring mornings we’ve been subject to through October.  I did manage to get my small piece completed as planned on Saturday.  Today I set up for a bigger piece, which involves more prep work to even get started (ugh) but the opportunity to play around with some bigger metal pieces to install in the frame (yay).

Yesterday I did something spontaneous and purchased a piece of fine art by a fellow I’ve been following for a few years now.  When I started going to his shows, his oils started around the $2,500 mark.  Yesterday, his oils started at the $3,500 mark.  I bought a small watercolour with a gorgeous antique frame to get my collection going.  The price was high, but enough below the oils that I could hand over my credit card with elation rather than dread.  In my elation I forgot to take a picture of it, but will share it when I get to bring it home at the end of November.

I’m going to put a link in here to Troy Brook’s work.  He has just been commissioned to put up a three story mural in downtown Toronto of his painting with the woman in black, hands raised and fire trucks around her.  I am in love with this man’s work!

http://www.troybrooks.com/gallery.html

Artists unite...

