Sidelined and Substituted

Since my last post, I found out that the house I am living in is being sold and sold quickly!  I had already told the landlord that I was moving (to a house with a studio space – heaven).  Within a week, things shifted into high gear.  Within two days I had to have the place ready to show.  This weekend there is an open house.  Naturally this means that all my window frames, rusted metal, wire, and all tools associated with my art had to be packed up and moved out of my bedroom (my current “studio”) into the garage.  I am material-less and completely unable to do any work.  It’s a long hiccup I wasn’t quite anticipating.

If I didn’t have my studio space to look forward to in December, I would probably be feeling really down.  Instead, I’ve temporarily substituted my material work for my other love, writing.  I signed onto NaNoWriMo and have been madly typing up a novel I’ve started and dropped before.  That is my bad habit.  I’m good at starting things, not so good at seeing them through.  Hence, this blog to keep me accountable and motivated.

So far, I’ve written about 13,000 words so I’m on track.  The challenge now is to stay on it with the chaos of viewings, packing, purchasing for the new place, and unloading stuff I don’t need all happens within the vortex of my life.  Happy November everyone!

Artists unite...

